Columbus Districting Commission

Explanation of Commission

As required by the Charter of the Columbus Consolidated Government, a Districting Commission is selected every ten years to use the new census data to reapportion the eight Council Districts that are geographic in nature and not at large throughout the City. Reapportionment becomes necessary due to population increase and geographic shifts over time. The goal of redistricting is to insure that all voters are represented proportionately in accordance with the principle of “one person, one vote.” Members of the Districting Commission are chosen based on nomination by the Grand Jury and appointment of the Mayor and Council. The current Commission convened on October 14, 2021 to begin its review of the Council Districts based on the 2020 census data.

Commission Member List

  • Byron Hickey
  • Oscar B Daise
  • Wane A Hailes
  • Gloria Strode
  • Richard T Boren
  • Dominick M Perkins
  • Judge Marc D'Antonio
  • Connie W Smith
  • Edwin C Roldan
  • Sue M Smith
  • Carl Jerome Williams
  • Katie Bishop
  • David T Rohwedder
  • Barbara Chambers
  • Mary Sue Polleys
  • Henriette E Cain


October 14,2021