muscogee county probate court

COVID-19 Policies and Procedures

Due to COVID-19, the following policies and procedures have been established to provide our customers, as well as our staff, with a safe and secure environment.

• Effective June 1, 2021, the Probate Court will resume no appointment necessary/walk-in services for weapons carry licenses. Click the button below to apply online*. If you currently have an appointment, you will receive priority at your appointment time over walk-ins.


Apply Online

• If you have not been vaccinated, please follow CDC guidelines by wearing a mask and maintaining social distancing.

• Please make sure you know all the application requirements and bring in all the required documentation (see below for all requirements and required documentation). If you do not bring all the required documentation to your appointment, you will be required return when all requirements are met.

• If you have any questions about a new or renewal WCL, you may call (706) 225-4750 or e-mail

• Your WCL will be mailed to you once your background check has been completed and your license has been approved for issuance.

Requirements to Obtain a Weapons Carry License (WCL)
1. Must be a U.S. Citizen or eligible lawful alien. (Additional documentation required to establish alien status).
2. Must be 21 years of age, unless active duty military or have an honorable discharge.
3. Must be a resident of Muscogee County or active duty U.S. Armed Forces and reside in Columbus/Fort Benning.
4. Required documentation:
a.) A copy of Birth Certificate or U.S. Passport AND Driver's License/State ID showing current Muscogee County address.
b.) Active duty U.S. Armed Forces who have an out of state Driver's License must also provide a military ID and a current lease or a current utility bill (power, water or gas only) showing Muscogee County/Fort Benning address.
5. Required fee: $79.00 ($78.25 application fee + optional $0.75 charge for stamp and envelope. Alternatively, applicants may bring their own self-addressed stamped envelope and only pay the application fee.)

Requirements to RENEW a Weapons Carry License

To be eligible to RENEW your WCL, you must bring your Muscogee County Driver's License/State ID Card* with your current address and your current Georgia WCL must not be more than 30 days expired. The cost is $35.00.

* If you are Military and have an out of state license, you must bring your Military ID and current lease or utility bill.

Weapons Carry License applications are processed Monday – Friday, 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM. *We will NOT process any applications after 4:00 PM.

Sheriff's Office fingerprinting hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM and 1:00 PM to 4:30 PM.

Click here for more information on the Georgia WCL Law.