About the Planning Department

Our mission is to provide continuous, comprehensive, and coordinated planning efforts, through a proactive public participation process, that will provide for regional growth, and regional mobility, while fostering sustainable development sensitive to community and natural resources.


The Columbus, Georgia Consolidated Government's Planning Department provides research, analysis, and policy recommendations to the City Council and Planning Advisory Commission (PAC) on land use, zoning, transportation planning, historic preservation, subdivision plat reviews, and urban design. The Department also acts as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Columbus-Phenix City area.


Through the use of a trained, professional planning staff, the department promotes advanced planning initiatives, objective studies and reviews, and the involvement of the community in planning needs. The planning department is committed to bringing together the area's urban planning resources to prepare for the future needs of our communities. This website is designed to provide visitors with the information they need concerning planning in our community. The Department hopes visitors of this website will find it informative and will visit it often.


Department Contact Information

Office Address:
 Government Annex Building, 2nd floor
 420 10th Street
Columbus, Georgia 31901      Google Maps »


Mailing Address:
C/O Planning Department
P.O. Box 1340
Columbus, Georgia 31902

Personnel Contact Information
Main Office (706) 225-4116

Transportation Division

(706) 225-4421
Will Johnson
Planning Director
wjohnson@columbusga.org
(706) 225-4447
Felton Grant
Right-of-Way Coordinator
fgrant@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3939
Lynda Temples
Principal Transportation Planner
ltemples@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3938
Michael Mixen
Senior Transportation Planner
mixen.michael@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3934
David Cooper
GIS Technician
dcooper@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3976
VACANT
Administration

Planning Division
 
John Renfroe
Assistant Planning Director
jrenfroe@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3937
Rex Wilkinson
Senior Planner
wilkinson.rex@columbusga.org
(706) 225-3928
VACANT
Planner

Directions




League of American BicyclistsGeorgia DOTHistoric ColumbusGA Clean Air Campaign
Planning logo sm