muscogee county probate court

COVID-19 Policies and Procedures

Due to COVID-19, the following policies and procedures have been established to provide our customers, as well as our staff, with a safe and secure environment.

• Weapons Carry License applications will be BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.

ONLY the applicants will be allowed in during their scheduled appointment time. You may NOT bring additional family (including children) or guests.

• If you are more than 15 minutes late for your appointment, you may be asked to reschedule.

• You MUST bring and wear a mask and practice social distancing by remaining 6 feet away from all court employees.

• Please make sure you know all the application requirements and bring in all the required documentation (see below for all requirements and required documentation). If you do not bring all the required documentation to your appointment, you will be forced to reschedule.

• Pursuant to the declaration of Judicial Emergency, if you have a CURRENT WCL that has expired or will expire between February 12, 2020 – June 11, 2020, you have 120 days after the DATE OF EXPIRATION to renew.

• To schedule an appointment for a new or renewal WCL, you may call 706-225-4750 and leave a message or e-mail probatelicense@columbusga.org.

• The Court will schedule your appointment and send you a web link to apply for license online. You will be required to attend the appointment in office to complete the application process and pay the fees.

○ Priority appointments will be given to those applicants who are 30 days from expiration.

• Your WCL will be mailed to you once your background check has been completed and your license has been approved for issuance.

Requirements to Obtain a Weapons Carry License (WCL)
1. Must be a U.S. Citizen or eligible lawful alien. (Additional documentation required to establish alien status).
2. Must be 21 years of age, unless active duty military or have an honorable discharge.
3. Must be a resident of Muscogee County or active duty U.S. Armed Forces and reside in Columbus/Fort Benning.
4. Required documentation:
a.) A copy of Birth Certificate or U.S. Passport AND Driver's License/State ID showing current Muscogee County address.
b.) Active duty U.S. Armed Forces who have an out of state Driver's License must also provide a military ID and a current lease or a current utility bill (power, water or gas only) showing Muscogee County/Fort Benning address.
5. Required fee: $79.00 ($78.25 application fee + optional $0.75 charge for stamp and envelope. Alternatively, applicants may bring their own self-addressed stamped envelope and only pay the application fee.)

Requirements to RENEW a Weapons Carry License

To be eligible to RENEW your WCL, you must bring your Muscogee County Driver's License/State ID Card* with your current address and your current Georgia WCL must not be more than 30 days expired. The cost is $35..

* If you are Military and have an out of state license, you must bring your Military ID and current lease or utility bill.

Weapons Carry License applications are processed through the Probate Court Monday through Friday BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.

Sheriff's Office fingerprinting hours are Monday through Friday 8:30AM to 11:30AM and 1:00PM to 4:30PM. Please note any new applicants signed in after 4:00 will need to return for fingerprinting the next business day.

Click here for more information on the Georgia WCL Law.